Top Sports news of the day

by sportifnews Desk Jan 26, 2021 • 11:47 AM Views 262
ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2021

Top Sports News of the day - 25 Jan 2021


Cricket | England Tour of Sri Lanka

  • Englands won the second test by 6 wickets and the series by 2-0
  • Although Sri Lanka gave some hope with their first inning performance, but that was it
  • Here is a quick summary of the Test:
  • Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first
  • Sri Lanka scored 381 in the first inning - Angelo Mathews scored 110 runs; Niroshan Dickwella scored 92 runs; James Anderson took 6 wickets and Mark Wood took 3 wickets
  • England scored 344 in their first inning, thereby trailed by 37 runs; Joe Root scored 186 runs and Jos Butter scored 55 runs; Lasitha Embuldeniya took 7 wickets and Ramesh Mendis took 1 wicket
  • In the second inning, Sri Lanka got out at merely 126 runs; the highest score was from Lasitha Embuldeniya - 40 runs; Dom Bess and Jack Leach took 4 wickets each
  • England achieved the target of 164 on Day 4 itself with 6 wickets in hand; Dom Sibley scored 56 runs and Jos Butter scored 46 runs (both not-out)
  • Joe Root was declared as player of the match and player of the series
  • England came, beat Sri Lanka at home, and sweat away from the Test series by 2-0, time for Sri Lanka to introspect
  • T20 series of 3 matches between England and Sri Lanka will be played in June 2021


Cricket | Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT)- Domestic Indian Cricket Season

  • Mumbai lost four of their five matches in Group E and are out of the tournament. Their Coach Amit Pahnis (who was appointed a month back) has tendered his resignation due to the bad performance of the Team
  • From Today (26 Jan), quarter-finals will get kicked off as IPL teams and National selectors would be eying the top players
  • The eight teams in the quarter-finals are - Karnataka, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Haryana, Baroda, Bihar, and Rajasthan
  • Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Baroda, Rajasthan, Haryana, and Bihar topped their respective groups and have been undefeated in the tournament (except Rajasthan, who lost one match but is still at the top of their group)
  • Top run-scorers in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy - Narayan Jagadeeshan from Tamil Nadu has scored 315 runs at an average of 157 runs, Avi Borat from Gujarat has scored 283 runs at an average of 56 runs and Prabhsimran Singh of Punjab has scored 277 runs at an average of 92 runs
  • Highest Wicket takers in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy - Ashutosh Aman from Bihar - 14 wickets in 5 matches,  Avesh Khan of Madhya Pradesh 14 wickets in 5 matches, and Ishan Porel of Bengal - 13 wickets in 5 matches


Cricket | Big Bash League (BBL) season 10

  • Sydney Thunder (116/1) beat Adelaide Strikers (115/4) by 9 wickets (and 11 balls remaining) - was a one-way match!
  • Thunders won the toss and invited Strikers to bat first
  • It was a rain-curtailed match and Strikers put up a total of 115 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in 14 overs
  • Thunders achieved the target in 12 overs with 9 wickets in hand
  • 32-year old Alex Hales (right hands batsman) of Sydney Thunder was declared as 'man of the match' as he scored 63 runs in 39 balls. Callum Ferguson also scored 46 runs off 33 balls
  • Perth Scorchers leads the BBL season 10 table with 32 points (8 wins in 14 matches), followed by Sydney Sixers with again 32 points (8 wins in 13 matches) but with a lower run rate than Perth Scorchers.
  • Sydney Thunders and Brisbane Heat are at the third and fourth spot, respectively
  • Today - Tuesday, 26th January 2021 we have Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers, which will be the 54th T20 of BBL season 10


Cricket | South Africa tour of Pakistan

  • Two-Tests series between Pakistan and South Africa will begin on 26 January 2021
  • 26-year old Babar Azam will be leading the Pakistan Team; his debut series as a Test Captain on Pakistan soil
  • The Second Test will be played from 04 February 2021 onwards


Cricket | Afghanistan Vs Ireland

  • Afghanistan won the second ODI against Ireland and now leads the 3-ODI series by 2-0
  • The third and the final ODI will be played on Tuesday, 26 January 2021


Cricket | West Indies tour of Bangladesh

  • Bangladesh won the third ODI against West Indies by 120 runs; thereby clinching the ODI series by 3-0
  • Bangladesh scored 297 for the loss of 6 wickets and wrapped up the West Indies team at 177
  • Never thought even West Indies second choice or third choice players would play like this
  • Mushfiqur Rahman was declared as player of the match (64 runs in 55 balls)
  • Shakib Al Hasan was declared as player of the series


Cricket | Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021 - Schedule

  • The fourth edition of the T10 League will be played from 28 January 2021 till 06 February 2021 in Abu Dhabi
  • 8 teams will participate who will play 29 matches in total
  • Each team will have 8 players and 10 overs to play (90 min per side)
  • Group A teams - Bangla Tigers, Northern Warriors, Maratha Arabians, and Delhi Bulls
  • Group B teams - Pune Devils, Qalanders, Deccan Gladiators, and Team Abu Dhabi
  • Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Shoaib Malik, and Shahid Afridi will be participating in the tournament


Cricket | England Tour of India

  • Post completing the Sri Lanka tour, the England cricket team will visit India for playing four Tests and five T20s
  • The first test will be played on 05 February 2021 at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai
  • It will be played behind closed doors and no spectators will be allowed
  • The Indian team will reach Chennai on 27 January 2021 for the practice
  • Bowler Kuldeep Yadav is expected to join the Indian squad for this test series
  • The good part is that England spinners are not able to perform in Sri Lanka and are likely to continue the trend on Indian soil too


Sports | Other sports news

  • Anand Mahindra will be gifting Thar SUV to all six debutants of the Australia tour as a token of appreciation. Those six lucky players are - Shubham Gill Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan, Navdeep Saini, and Washington Sundar


Sports | Question of the day

  • Do you know who was the Indian captain in the 1st Men Cricket World Cup in 1975? Options are - Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Bishan Singh Bedi, or Srinivas Ventakaraghavan? Do reply to this post!
  • Yesterday's quiz was -  What is 'Puskas Award' related to  ? and the correct answer is - Goal of the year


Read Yesterday's Top Sports News