Big 3 confirmed for inaugural ATP Cup

by sportifnews Desk Sep 16, 2019 • 10:52 PM Views 562
ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2021

Sydney, Sep 16 - The draw for Australia's new ATP Cup tournament was finalised on Monday at the Sydney Opera House, with 27 of the world's top 30 men's tennis stars set to compete Down Under in the tournament to be held from January 3-12 next year.

In the competitition featuring 24 national teams, six groups of four will battle it out across three Aussie cities ahead of the 2020 Australian Open, reports Xinhua news agency.

World number one Novak Djokovic and his Serbian side will begin their campaign in Brisbane, 2019 US Open winner Rafael Nadal and his Spanish outfit will start off in Perth and 20-time Grand Slam winner Roger Federer will lead the Swiss team in Sydney.

Apart from it being a major economic windfall for the Aussie cities, for the players there will be 750 ATP rankings points on line along with a hefty prize money sum of $15 million.

Each match-up between countries will include two singles and one doubles contest.

"We're delighted to see such a star-studded player field lining up for the inaugural ATP Cup," ATP Executive Chairman and President Chris Kermode said.

"Having the top players competing in this new global event is critical, and the ATP Cup looks set to kick off the ATP Tour season in a big way in 2020."